Workshop: Studio Lighting

PhotobucketLast July 21st, on a very soggy and soaking wet Saturday morning, through floods and unrelenting rain, with my stubborn insistence to push through with it, at the reluctance of my colleagues, with Mr. Dale Sta. Rosa‘s tutelage, we had our first studio workshop. And one which I do believe is something we all we’re in much need of.

Unfortunately, due to the inclement weather that day, only 5 of us made it that morning alongside Dale and our model for that day, Floe.  I owe both of them greatly for coming in spite of the weather.

PhotobucketAll in all, we still learned a lot from our Studio lighting workshop.  So much so that I feel like I want to re-shoot all the company profile pics I did a few months ago. Learned so much about the “lighting ratio”. How light size, intensity and distance affects how light is cast on the subject.  Dale’s lecture was very easy to follow, provided one was familiar with the camera’s “exposure triangle”.  He showed us how the camera’s settings controlled the light output.  As well as how light modifiers like soft boxes and umbrellas worked in affecting the light. It was such an eye opener.  As someone who relied mostly on wide apertures to take his photos, working with strobes at the other end of the aperture range was very new to me.  The narrowest I would usually take portraits with were at F4- F8 and that was only if we were out doors with oodles of ambient light.  Other wise, I would normally just be using F10 and up for my long exposure shots.

PhotobucketAs far as application goes of what I learned, my DIY lighting will definitely have improvements. I have taken photos with some degree of creative lighting with my toys as subjects, but those were also mostly long exposures or used steady light sources.  I’m not saying my on-the-go product/food shots would be much better than something who used some Instagram filter, but at least I’ll have better control of how I want to achieve a certain light I’m looking for.  Just as well, the theorem and math involved in it would be something I could use when covering events rather than having to just rely on E-TTL on my flash gun all the time. The lecture was very brief and concise.

PhotobucketI guess the fact that most of us we’re pretty much on the same page about photography, Dale just had to gauge what we knew and was quickly on the level with us.  While it seemed very rushed, the application of the theories were very hands on and quickly got us up to speed of what adjustments were to be made.  Oh, and Dale’s lightmeter also helped a lot.  If anything, we extended our workshop 2 hours as we also got to start an hour and a half late due to the weather.

Another person we should also give as much credit to during our over extended workshop was our model, Floe.  A real trooper as she gamely posed for us despite being cold and shivering.  Real fun to work with. and even though she “couldn’t relate”, so she says, to our topic, she was every bit as curious.  I look forward to working with her again in future shoots.  Even wave and say hi at the events she’ll be gracing with her charm.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

So… What have we got in store for our next workshop. The guys have been wanting to improve on their speed photography.  I’m no pro, but I think I’m pretty confident with my sports photography.  Obviously we can’t do motorsport photography on the fly, but perhaps something a tad slower but just as intense.

Leave a Reply

